False Advertising and Some Interesting Variations On Soda Pops Now On The Market:

I had an earlier posting involving Pepsi Throwback and Mountain Dew Throwback. Well, they’re back…sort of:

They also come along with Heritage Doctor Pepper.

The thing is, we’re not talking about the same Pepsi and Mountain Dew Throwbacks that came out last year. Last Year’s throwbacks had the old ingredient listings, this year’s throwbacks have the same ingredients as the main releases, only putting in regular sugar instead of HFCS.

Of course, everyone knows about how Pepsi changed their formulation for their flagship brand a few years ago to include a bit of sugar alongside the HFCS to cut what I had forever called that dirty taste at the back of the throat that I got when I used to drink Pepsi. This version of the Throwbacks envisions the two flagship brands (Plus Dr. Pepper) as HFCS-free versions of themselves.

And they do hold up.

The Mountain Dew Throwback holds up best. That bitter taste down the back of the tounge that’s part of the HFCS-sweetened pop doesn’t show up in the sugar-sweetened version…and I’ve tried to suss it out quite a few times. The Dr Pepper Heritage version also betters its HFCS version, with the flavors more able to stand out above the sweetness.

And the Pepsi Throwback? It’s better than the HFCS version, but I think the original throwback version is better.

Still, these pops are better than anything from the Coke side of the aisle (YES, THERE I SAID IT). As much as I’ve liked and grown up with Coke, Sprite, Fanta, Mello Yello, Mr. Pibb, Tab and all the other brands from the soda folks from Atlanta, I now find their stuff hard to swallow. Literally. My throat rebels against letting the Coke label’s elixers down it. The Throwbacks (and Dr Pepper Heritage) goes down my throat readily, and greedily in some cases.

I do hope that Pepsi considers using these throwback formulations as their main formulations, and change the other pops to include sugar instead of the noxious HFCS. I honestly think people will chose them over whatever Coke decides to put out today.

2 thoughts on “False Advertising and Some Interesting Variations On Soda Pops Now On The Market:

  1. Please don’t take this the wrong way. I think your overall ideas are fine but you might want to put a little more thought into your next posts. I say this becuase it seems like your writing style has gone downhill a bit as opposed to your previous posts. – C.

  2. lmfao…. Please don’t take this the wrong way Charlotte. I think your overall ideas suck and you might want to put a little more thought into your next post. I say this BECAUSE it seems like your spelling skill has gone downhill a bit as opposed to your previous posts. – RxOxBx

Leave a Reply

